Subscribe!
Richard Hardesty: A Memorial

I have known Dick Hardesty since the days when he owned Havens and Hardesty Audio. He was a great teacher and diligent writer.

I asked Dick to join Widescreen Review as a Contributing Editor and our Technical Audio Editor. His contributions were always leading-edge articles and reviews. Dick was an inspiring individual during his years with us. We called him Dr. Boom. His greatest contribution to Widescreen Review was The Essential Subwoofer Buyer's Guide, which is still in demand to this day.

I was saddened when he left us to pursue his own digital publishing. Dick's service and friendship will always be remembered and cherished. Rest in peace.

Gary Reber


We would like to present Richard Hardesty's seminal WSR series—Subwoofers: Presenting The Fundamentals—for all to remember

Download Subwoofers: Presenting The Fundamentals

The Absolute Sound's tribute page
Vandersteen Audio's Rememberance

   
New For Subscribers
Issue 188 Features:
• CEA Updates Ultra HD Display Characteristics; DEG, CEA, The Recording Academy® and Major Labels Reach Agreement on Definition for High Resolution Audio; A Study In Spatial Surround Dimensionality Of 25 Over-Ear and On-Ear Headphones
• Optoma HD91 LED Projector
• Samsung BD-H6500 4K Up-Converting 3D Blu-ray Disc Player
• Audience ClairAudient The ONE and 1+1 Loudspeakers
• On Screen With Wilfried Van Baelen Auro Technologies
• Reinventing Home Theatre 10 Years After The Arrival Of Widescreen Home Cinema
• Input From Others On UHD
• 13 Blu-ray Disc Reviews and more!
Check them out in this month's Attractions...
   
Contests And Announcements

Widescreen Review is now available on iPad, iPhone, iPod Touch and Amazon's App Store. Every special edition is also available. Subscribe today!
PLEASE NOTE: The app subscription is separate from a web and print subscription.

Like us on Facebook and stay "in-the-know" with our updates!

   
 
Blu-ray Reviews
September 2, 2014

Web Exclusive Reviews
Issue 188 Reviews
Recently Reviewed
Release Schedules By Month
   
Today's Headlines
August 28, 2014
Samsung Bets On 4K Amazon And Netflix Streaming To Make UHD TV More Tempting (CNet)

August 27, 2014
RICHARD “DICK” HARDESTY 1944–2014

August 26, 2014
The Return Of Dueling Technologies (Film Journal Internatinoal)

August 19, 2014
Dolby To Bring Atmos To Smart Phones And Tablets This Year (International Business Times)

August 12, 2014
Dolby Readying Atmos For The Home Come Fall (Hollywood Reporter)

Click here for more Industry Headlines...

   
Today's News
August 25, 2014
Demand For High Resolution Home Theater Wireless Audio Sparks Growth In Wireless Speaker And Audio Association

Click here for more Industry News...

August 14, 2014
DTS Preparing To Launch DTS-UHD™ Object-Based Audio Format For Home Theatre

Click here for more Industry News...

August 13, 2014
8 Things You Should Know About Auro-3D®

Click here for more Industry News...

August 13, 2014
High-End Home Cinema Audio To Reach New 'Heights'

Click here for more Industry News...

August 4, 2014
Martin Scorsese Supports Kodak's Continued Production Of Film Stock

Click here for more Industry News...

   
WSR Blogs
The Editor's Couch
December 3, 2013
Upcoming 4k Televisions Could Be Bigger Than 3D
December 20, 2012
The Future (Exclusive Article From Issue 173 in January 2013!)
September 18, 2012
Connect to opportunity – Register now.
August 23, 2012
It’s Your Last Chance for FREE Registration for the 2013 CES!
January 18, 2012
How CE Manufacturers Are Killing Brick And Mortar Stores And Undermining Their Own Future
January 18, 2012
Democratic Capitalism And Binary Economics: Solutions For A Troubled Nation And Economy
September 1, 2011
Blu-ray Disc Release Schedule For March/April 2012

More news from the Editor's Couch...


Coming Soon To A Home Theatre Near You
September 18, 2013
The Sharp AQUOS® 4K Ultra HD LED TV Now Available
August 22, 2013
MOZAEX RELEASES NEW APPLE IOS APP FOR MEDIA SERVER
August 22, 2013
Severtson Screens Debuts SAT-4K Acoustically Transparent Projection Screens at 2013 CEDIA Expo
August 21, 2013
Bryston Unveils Model A Loudspeaker Series
August 7, 2013
BenQ Introduces World's First Wireless Projector With Built-in 5-GHz WHDI™ Technology
August 7, 2013
VIZIO Unveils Three New Home Theater Sound Bars
August 5, 2013
VIZIO Unveils Next Generation Smart TV Platform

Click here for more Coming Soon...

   




Salamander DesignFortress Seating See What's In The New Issue Of WSR
or check out all of our back issues


 Subscribe to our RSS feed

Subscribe/Renew To Widescreen Review



Reason #17 Why Readers Love Widescreen Review:

I read this bad-ass magazine for its tight reference systems and for helping me set up my Monster HTPS 7000 Home Theatre Power Source. It also helps me set up my Hitachi Ultra Vision LCD TV. I also read it for the DVD reviews, along with the DVD drop dates. I also read it so I can daydream about actually owning something in this magazine, including that Monster HTPS 7000. I have a Bose system, but I'm ready to step it up.

Stephen Bagwell
P.O. Box 2587, Temecula, CA, 92593-2587 Phone: 951 676 4914 • Fax: 951 693 2960
Copyright © InformationAll Rights Reservedwww.widescreenreview.com • Web Site Established In 1995